May Days and Birthdays

1950s DOMINO SUGAR vintage illustration birthday cake advertisement

Being a May baby meant only one thing as a child – sunny birthday parties in the garden. I might be a little too old for treasure hunts and picnics now but the fact that there is promising sunshine for the foreseeable future means that I’m hardly complaining (hardly) that I’m the youngest of my friends. Given that my birthday falls slap bang in the middle of exams means there’ll be no going out until late at night, so I figured I’d do something a little more intimate with my closest friends until the summer. With 21 days to go I’m not going to lie I’ve spent far too much time thinking of how I want to celebrate. Here are some ideas I’ve come up with…

I’ve been totally taken in by the mason jar margarita craze. They just look so cute!…

FotoFlexer_Photo

I’ve wanted to try these meringue candy kisses that Emily from Cupcakes and Cashmere made for Oscar night for sooo long…

meringuekiss2edited

Brunch is my favourite meal so what birthday would it be without one?…

Fotor0506163217

Do you have any birthday suggestions? I know I want massive pastel balloons like these…

Birthday Balloons

It’s a long wait still. But until the day actually arrives, here’s a little appreciation of the sun on this Bank Holiday Monday… xx

Image

